APC New Block Floats Integrity Group, Eyes National Convention

  • Backs Gov Buni-led Caretaker Committee to succeed

  • Preaches peace, unity 

BY EDMOND ODOK, ABUJA – Contending forces in the All Progressives Congress (APC) are at it again with some stakeholders already positioning themselves for the soul of the ruling party ahead of the planned Extra-Ordinary National Convention in six months.

A group of party stalwarts in the National Executive Committee (NEC), have formed themselves into what they described as APC NEC – Integrity Group.

Consequently, the members have pledged their allegiance to the APC by throwing their weight behind the repositioning efforts of newly inaugurated Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee (CEONCPC) of the ruling party

Comprising the Non-National Working Committee members of National Executive Committee (Non-NWC NEC), the group insists that all well-meaning APC members and supporters must come on board to promote unity and the rebuilding process after recent events and internal wrangling led to the dissolution of the NWC

To this end, the Integrity Group said trusted leaders have been appointed to pilot its affairs and chart the way forward in the interim.

The group has already conveyed its decision to the National Caretaker Committee Chairman, Governor Mai Mala Buni, in a letter jointly-signed by Hon. Abubakar Sadiq Saadu (Chairman) and David Okumba (Secretary) and made available to newsmen in Abuja

They assured Governor Mai Mala Buni of their backing and readiness to work with the Caretaker Committee towards restoring peace and taking the party to new heights of glory.

Further pledging its unalloyed support to the APC, the group said; “As NEC members, we are always ready and available for the Caretaker committee and shall support committee in which ever way require in cause of steering the party’s affairs.”

It also praised President Muhammadu Buhari for takkng the bold step to sack the crisi-ridden NWC and expressed hope that the Caretaker Committee will engender genuine reconciliation, peace and unity in the party.

The group also had kind words for Governor Buni on his emergence as chairman of the Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee.

It described the selection as a well thought out move that will enable the ruling party rebuild effectively towards regaining lost grounds in the nation’s political space.

Appointed into the Integrity Group’s Executive Committee as conveyed to APC National Caretaker Committee are: Hon. Abubakar Sadiq Saadu – North West (Chairman); Dr Mrs. Racheal Akpabio – South South (Deputy Chairman); David Okumgba – South South (Secretary); Abubakar A. Musa – North East (Asst. Secretary); and Lawal Kolade – South West (Treasurer).

Others appointed include: Terver Aginde – North Central (Organization/Mobilization); Hon. Muhammed S. Ibrahim – North West zone (Publicity/Strategic Communication); and Barr. Tanko Zakari – North Central (Legal Adviser).

Also listed are: Muhammad Azare – North East (Welfare); Nduka Anyanwu – South East (Auditor); Bolaji Repete Hafeez – South West zone (Deputy Publicity/Strategic Communications); and Hon. Ihuoma Onyebuchukwu – South East (Deputy Treasurer)

To serve as Coordinators for the geo-political zones are: Abdulmunaf Muh’d – North West; John Uwaedu – South East; Jock Alamba – North Central; Adie Ferdinand Atsu – South South; and Abubakar Ajiya – North East

Appointments into the Group’s Board of Trustees (BoT) are: Alhaji Nasiru Danu – North West (Chairman); Sunday Jacob – South East (Secretary); Chief Koteteh Ibadan – South South (Member); Alhaji Shuaibu Abdulrahaman – North East (Member); and Alhaji Zakari Muhammad – North Central (Member)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply