Senate President, Lawan Swears-in Seriake Dickson, 3 Other Senators-elect

Sen Seriake Dickson

BY EDMOND ODOK, ABUJA – President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has sworn-in former Governor of Bayelsa State, Seriake Dickson, to represent Bayelsa West Senatorial District in the National Assembly (NASS)

Others also sworn in are: Cleopas Moses (PDP – Bayelsa Central); Nora Ladi Daduut (APC – Plateau South); and Michael Adetokunbo Abiru (APC – Lagos East).

A statement signed by Ezrel Tabiowo, Special Assistant (Press) to President of the Senate, said the lawmakers were sworn in at exactly 11:04am shortly after the commencement of plenary.

Two of the newly sworn in lawmakers, Nora Ladi Daduut and Adetokunbo Abiru will replace the Late Senators Bayo Osinowo; and Ignatius Longjan who represented Lagos East and Plateau South before their demise in 2019 and 2020, respectively.

Abiru, Born on March 25, 1964, served as the Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Polaris Bank Limited until his resignation on August 24, 2020, to contest the Lagos East senatorial bye-election on the platform of the APC.

Abiru was also the Executive Director at First Bank Nigeria Ltd from 2013 to 2016, and served as the Honourable Commissioner of Finance, Lagos State, from 2011 to 2013 under the leadership of then Lagos Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola.

Born on May 10, 1953, Professor Daduut, until her election was the head of French Department of the University of Jos.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *