…Says new executive accepts trust to lead AMP to new heights

Film-maker and founder of the African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA), Peace Anyiam Osigwe, has been elected President of the Association of Movie Producers (AMP).

She scored 167 votes to beat her closest rival, Myke Parish Ajere, who garnered a paltry three votes.

The election, which took place in Asaba, the Delta State capital, had in attendance Chief Zeb Ejiro, who is chairman of the Board of Trustees (BoT) of AMP, outgoing President of AMP, Ralph Nwadike and all members of AMP executive Committee.

Over 16 state chapters, their chairmen and over 165 members were also in attendance.

Others elected were Queen Blessing, who was returned as Vice Chairman with 165votes while her opponent, Rose Okwoli polled four votes.

Similarly, Baba Agba recorded 149 votes to defeat Ifeanyi Ezekwe, who polled 19 votes for the position of National Secretary while Anthony Chukwuma garnered 144 votes to emerge as the Financial Secretary beating his opponent in the race, Ukeaja Chioma, who polled 20 votes.

The result also showed that Nzeh Frank White beat Sam Obeakameh with 132 votes to 30 votes to emerge as the National Publicity Secretary, while Vitus Nnebue was elected Provost.

In a post-election statement that was released later, the new president of AMP, Peace Anyiam-Osigwe, expressed joy at the conduct and outcome of the election in which the new executive members recorded emphatic victory.

She said; “couple of months back, my team and I embarked on a journey to join the leadership structure of the Association of Movie Producers (AMP).

“We alongside fellow members from 18 chapters nationwide attended the AMP convention yesterday in Asaba, Delta State.

“I am happy to announce that after a robust election process organised by the AMPEC, with the Board of Trustees Chairman, Chief Zeb Ejiro opening the event and presence of the outgoing President, Ralph Nwadike, we emerged with a landslide victory.

“We will like to thank everyone who voted and supported us during this period, the AMPEC for conducting a hitch-free election, the outgoing Excos and the Board of Trustees for their tireless efforts in preserving and growing the association.

“We humbly accept this responsibility and trust in us to carry our association to new heights. The challenge before us is monumental, but I am eager to join hands with other incoming executives and our fellow members to achieve great milestones that every Nigerian Producer can be proud of,” she said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here