Appeal Court Delivers Deadly Blow On Plateau PDP, Unseats 11 Lawmakers

  • Party loses State Assembly

The Court of Appeal sitting in Abuja on Friday delivered another deadly blow to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) by sacking 11 of its lawmakers from the Plateau State House of Assembly.

In a unanimous decision that has further decimated the nation’s opposition Party on the Plateau, the Appellate Court panel led by Justice Okon Abang held that all the sacked lawmakers scored wasted votes at the time of the March 2023 general election because their party lacked structure.

He added that the PDP violated section 177 of the 1999 constitution and, hence could not sponsor candidates in an election. However, the court declared all the second runners-up in the March 18 parliamentary elections as the validly elected lawmakers to take their seats in the Plateau House of Assembly.

Among those who lost their seats are; Hon Timothy Dantong – (Riyom); Hon Rimyat Nanbol – (Langtang North Central); Hon Moses Sule – (Mikang); Hon Salome Waklek – (Pankshin); and Hon Bala Fwangji – (Mangu South); Hon Maren Ishaku – (Bokkos); and Hon Dagogot – (Quaanpan North).

Others include Hon Nannim Langyi – (Langtang North North); Hon Nimchak Rims – (Langtang South); Hon Danjuma Azi – (Jos North West); Hon Gwottson Fom – (Jos South); and Hon Abubakar Sani Idris – (Mangu North).

With the latest development, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has now become the leading party in the State parliament.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply