FG Reconstitutes Tax Appeal Tribunals


BY EDMOND ODOK, ABUJA – In a bold move to boost stakeholders’ trust and confidence in the nation’s tax system, the Federal Government has reconstituted Tax Appeal Tribunals in the six geo-political zones as well as Lagos and Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

According to the Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun, the exercise is in line with Section 2(1) of the Fifth Schedule of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) Establishment Act.

Adeosun stated that said a rigorous process was employed by the Ministry “to select competent persons on the basis of merit who will be expected to discharge their duties professionally.”

She said the Tribunals are responsible for adjudicating over disputes arising from the operation of Federal Tax Laws and Regulations in the country, adding that; “The reconstitution of the Tax Appeal Tribunals is an essential part of building tax payers trust and confidence in the fairness of the system.”

The Minister said in Abuja on Thursday that the Ministry sought nominations from a number of professional bodies and stakeholders, including the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN); Association of National Accountants of Nigeria (ANAN); Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN); Nigeria Bar Association (NBA); and the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce & Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA).

Mrs Adeosun, who spoke through a statement by her Special Adviser, Media and Communications, Oluyinka Akintunde, said the Tax Appeal Commissioners are expected to hold office for a term of three (3) years from the date of appointment.

The statement also said that each Tribunal comprises a Chairman and four Commissioners knowledgeable in the laws, regulations, norms and practices of taxation in Nigeria as well as management and trade.

  1. Abuja Tax Appeal Tribunal
1Iriogbe Ayo AliceChairman
2Prof. Ishola Rufus AkintoyeMember
3Ajayi Julius BamideleMember
4Dr. Almustapha AliyuMember
5Nasiru KuliyaMember
  1. Lagos Tax Appeal Tribunal
1Lassise-Phillips Olanrewaju MoshoodChairman
2Dike Mark Anthony ChidolueMember
3Sanusi Maijamaa AjiyaMember
4Mrs Titilola AkibayoMember
5Rasaq Adekunle QuadriMember
  1. North-East Zone Tax Appeal Tribunal – Sitting In Bauchi, Bauchi State
1Bagoni Alhaji BukarChairman
2Barr. Bashir MaiduguMember
3Adamu IsmailaMember
4Tijanayi Musa IsaMember
5Mrs. Nafisa Shehu AwakMember
  1. North West Zone Tax Appeal Tribunal – Sitting In Kaduna, Kaduna State
1Umar Mohammed AdamuChairman
2Isa Kabir DandagoMember
3Bayero A.S. MuhammadMember
4Abubakar-Gwandu SameerahMember
5Dr. Ahmad M. KumsheMember
  1. North Central Zone Tax Appeal Tribunal – Sitting In Jos, Plateau State
1Barr. Richard BalaChairman
2Barr. Emmanuel Seungwa UkeraMember
3Ogbaenyi Ivan ChikwenduMember
4Abdul Zaidu IddeMember
5Mrs. Atoki DupeMember
  1. South West Zone Tax Appeal Tribunal – Sitting In Ibadan, Oyo State
1Ajibola AkinmadeChairman
2Atitola Felix BimboMember
3Falade Sufian AlaniMember
4Mrs. Queensley S. SeghosimeMember
5Princess Elemanya EbilahMember
  1. South East Zone Tax Appeal Tribunal – Sitting In Enugu, Enugu State
1Chukwuemeka EzeChairman
2Ide John UdeagbalaMember
3Anyaduba John ObioraMember
4Mazi Nnamdi OkwuadigboMember
5Obri Francis OgarMember
  1. South-South Zone Tax Appeal Tribunal – Sitting In Benin, Edo State
1Odiase-Alegimenlen ObehiChairman
2Ala Peters DavidMember
3Mrs. Hilda OzohMember
4Ajokwu Vitalis FridayMember
5Otusanya Olatunde Julius



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply