INEC Declares Buhari Winner Of 2019 Presidential Poll


BY COBHAM NSA, ABUJA – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared President Muhammadu Buhari winner of the 2019 Presidential election.

Following the final collation of results of the February 23 polls, INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu said Buhari of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and incumbent president, defeated his closest rival, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and other presidential candidates with a total of 15,191,847 votes.

According to the electoral umpire, the APC candidate won in 19 states of the federation, beating Atiku who polled 11,262,978 votes to place second in the elections.

The figure collated and released on Wednesday morning by the electoral umpire at the national collation centre in Abuja indicated that President Buhari amassed more than 25 per cent of required votes in over 24 states of the federation.

He recorded 3,928,869 votes over his closest rival, Atiku, who also recorded 25 per cent of the total votes cast in more than 24 states but lost by the simple majority constitutional requirements.

President Buhari won in 19 states of Bauchi, Borno, Ekiti, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Osun, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara.

Atiku’s however claimed victory in 17 states of Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Benue, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Ondo, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Taraba and the FCT

Also, figures released by the INEC boss showed that total Valid Votes stood at 27,324,583; Rejected Votes: 1,289,607; Total Votes Cast: 28,614,190; and Total No of Registered voters: 82, 344, 107

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply