Home NEWS Latest News Senate Okays Buhari’s Request For N148.14bn Refund To 5 States

Senate Okays Buhari’s Request For N148.14bn Refund To 5 States

Senate Okays Buhari’s Request For N148.14bn Refund To 5 States
The Nigerian Senate
  • Confirms CCB’s nominees

BY EDMOND ODOK, ABUJA – The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday approved President Muhammadu Buhari’s request for a refund of about N148,141,969,161.24 to five State governments for projects they executed on behalf of the Federal Government.

Among the beneficiaries are: Bayelsa, Rivers, Cross River, Ondo and Osun states

The approval was sequel to the consideration of a report by the Committee on Local and Foreign Debts Chaired by Senator Clifford Ordia (PDP – Edo Central).

In his presentation, Ordia said most of the Federal highways in the beneficiary states where said projects were executed “were at a deplorable state before the intervention of the state governments.”

According to him, “series of visits were carried out by the Federal Ministry it Works and Housing on all Federal Roads completed by the States and ascertained that the quality off work done met the required standard.”

The lawmaker noted that states like Cross River, Rivers, Bayelsa and Ondo States embarked on the highway projects execution as far back as 2005 to date.

He said while the State governments have completed all projects, as well as paid all contractors, the Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP) on its part certified that due process was properly followed.

Meanwhile, the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday confirmed the nomination of Barrister Benedict Umeano (Anambra – South East); Hon. Ehiozuwa Johnson Agbonayinma (Edo – South South); and CP. Olayinka Babatunde Balogun (rtd) (Ogun – South West) as members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB).

The nominees’ confirmation followed consideration of the report submitted by Senate Committe on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions.

In another development, the Senate referred President Buhari’s request seeking the confirmation of nominees to the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission Tribunal to its Committee on Trade and Investment.

The nominees, expected to appear for screening before the Committee are: Mrs. Sadatu Mama Shafi, Chairman (North Central); George Chukwuma Mbonu, Member (South East); and Barrister Thomas E. Okosun (South South).

Others include: Umar Dauda Duhu (North East); Ibrahim El-Yakubu (North West); Mrs. Sola Salako Ajulo (South West); and Kenneth Tersoo Gyado (North Central).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here