Buhari Seeks Senate’s Confirmation Of National Hajj Commission Members


BY VICTOR BUORO, ABUJA – The Senate on Tuesday received a request from President Muhammadu Buhari seeking the confirmation of the appointment of the Chairman and Members of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON).

The letter dated November 28, 2019, was read on the floor of the Senate by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan during a brief plenary session of the Upper chamber of the National Assembly.

The President’s letter reads; “Pursuant to Section 3(2) of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON) Act, 2006, I am pleased to forward for confirmation by the Senate the undercoated names of nominees for the positions of Chairman and Members of the National Hajj Commission.”

The nominees include Alhaji Zikrullah Olakunke Hassan from Osun State, (South-west) as Chairman, Hassan Yakassai from Kano State State (North-west) as Executive Commissioner – Policy, Personnel, Management and Finance, and Sheikh Momoh Suleman Imonikhe from Edo State (South-south), as Executive Commissioner, Planning, Research, Statistics, Information and Library.

The part-time members are; Hajiya Halimat Jibril – Niger State, North Central; Abba Jato – Borno State, North East; Garba Umar – Sokoto State, North West; Ibrahim Ogbonnia Amah – Ebonyi State, South East; Sadiq Oniyesaneyene Musa – Delta State, South South, and Akintunde Basirat Olayinka from Ogun State, South West.

The list also include the representatives of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs). They are Shehu Dogo – Ministry of Aviation; Nura Abba Rimi – Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Rabi Bello Isa – Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning; Zainab Ujudud Sherrif – Ministry of Health; Aminu Bako Yarima – Nigeria Immigration Service, and Ibrahim Ishaq Nuhu – Central Bank of Nigeria.

Buhari told the Senate that the names of the representatives of the Jama’atul Nasril Islam and the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs will be sent to it subsequently, once the ongoing consultations are concluded.

Meanwhile, the Senate on Tuesday held a minute silence and adjourned plenary in honour of a member of the House of Representatives, Jafaru Iliyasu Auna, who died on Monday in Abuja.

Until his death, Jafa’aru was the member representing Magama/Rijau Federal Constituency of Niger State and member of the House Committee on Public Accounts.

The motion for adjournment was moved by Senate Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and seconded by the Senate Minority Leader, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply