• As Speaker, 7 lawmakers join APC

BY ONYEKACHUKWU IBEZIM, OWERRI – As predicted by political pundits, the ongoing decimation of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Imo State moved a notch higher on Tuesday with the House of Assembly Speaker, Collins Chiji and Seven other Lawmakers defecting to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The high-wired manoeuvering is getting quite interesting with many already claiming that recent developments are meant to permanently deflate and incapacitate the opposition party in the Southeast state.

Competent sources hinted that recent events are being orchestrated by fifth columnists hell-bent on putting spanners in the works for the PDP and its governorship candidate, Emeka Ihedioha, currently perfecting legal documents to approach the Supreme Court for a review of its judgment that declared Senator Hope Uzodinma of APC as duly elected governor and rightful occupant of Douglas House, Owerri, the Imo State capital

The sources confirmed that it has been all turbulence for the PDP in the last two weeks following the apex Court’s ruling with the Deputy Speaker of the State Assembly being the first to lead some lawmakers, numbering nine (9) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

At Tuesday’s plenary that lasted about 20 minutes, the Speaker, Collins Chiji finally followed suit with seven other lawmakers joining him jump ship into the APC.

Going by this latest developments, the ruling APC has further strengthened its majority hold on the House, now boasting of 17 lawmakers in 27 membership Assembly.

The lawmakers who moved into the APC with Speaker Chiji are Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West) and Kennedy Ibe (Obowo).

Others include Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru) and Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here