Dino Melaye and Smart Adeyemi...back to the trenches

BY SEGUN ADEBAYO – Despite the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)’s declaration of Saturday’s Kogi West Senatorial District rerun as inconclusive, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Dino Melaye, has outrightly rejected the poll results 

Describing them as ‘magic results’, Melaye accused his All Progressives Congress (APC) opponent, Senator Smart Adeyemi, and Governor Yahaya Bello of using violence, intimidation and inducement to frustrate the electorate in areas where he is popular.

However, the electoral umpire said a new date will soon be announced for the supplementary poll to address observable issues of violence and disruption of proceedings witnessed during the November 16 election in the Senatorial District.

According to official results released by INEC, Senator Smart Adeyemi of APC polled 80,118 while Senator Dino Melaye of PDP scored 59,548.

Returning Officer (RO) for the election, Professor Olayide Lawal said a winner is yet to emerge as the number of voters affected by cancelation and disruption is greater than the votes difference between the two leading candidates

The University lecturer in declaring the election as inconclusive, said supplementary election will be conducted to decide the eventual winner of the race.

Records available from INEC indicate that about 53 polling units  and 46,127 registered voters were affected which is more than the 20,570 margin between the two contenders.

But insisting that he won the election squarely and fairly, Melaye expressed surprised that despite the level of violence and the reports of abduction of INEC officials and National Youth Corps Service members, who served as ad hoc staff, the commission still collated and announced ‘fictitious results’, that are not acceptable by him as they did not reflect the realities of the situation

INEC’s breakdown of both parties’ performance in the seven Local Government Areas (LGAs) are as follows:

Kabba/Bunu LGA

APC – 15,037

PDP – 8,974

Ijumu LGA

APC – 11,627

PDP – 7,647

Kogi/Koton Karfe LGA

APC – 14,168

PDP -.9,786

Mapo/Muro LGA

APC -.4,874

PDP – 3,704

Yagba East LGA

APC – 6,683

PDP – 7,745

Yagba West LGA

APC – 7,941

PDP – 8,980

Lokoja LGA

APC – 19,788

PDP – 12,712


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here