BY VICTOR BUORO, ABUJA – President Muhammadu Buhari and the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on Monday announced the reconstitution of its National Reconciliation Committee.  

The reviewed National Reconciliation Committee has 12-member with former interim National Chairman of the Party and former governor of Osun State, Chief Bisi Akande as Chairman.

Other members include the governor of Niger State, Abubakar Sani Bello, governor of Osun State, Gboyega Oyetola, the Senate Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase and former governor of Nasarawa State, Senator Umaru Tanko Al-Makura

The other members are former governor of Borno State, Senator Kashim Shettima; Minister of State for Environment, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor; Alhaji Nasiru Aliko Koki; Senator Khairat Gwadabe-Abdulrazak; and Senator Binta Garba while Senator John Enoh will serve as Secretary.

A statement by the National Publicity Secretary of the APC, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, said the Committee is empowered to address grievances of party members across the country and resolve existing conflicts.

Issa-Onilu further said that the Committee is expected to foster oneness, strengthen the party for better governance and ensure unity of purpose within the party.

The committee will be inaugurated tomorrow, Tuesday, February 11, 2020 at the APC National Secretariat by 3pm

Inside sources hinted that the party hierarchy may have bowed to pressure mounted by some aggrieved members, including Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, in its decision to reconstitute the panel.

The initial National Reconciliation Committee set up in accordance with the directive of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party was to be chaired by President of the Senate, Senator Ahmed Lawan, but was never inaugurated.

Edo state governor, leading the pack of other concerned members, had rejected the committee saying the National Chairman; Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, who is an interested party to the crisis in the South South state, cannot constitute a committee to reconcile aggrieved members in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here