Guild Of Editors Holds Convention April 28


The Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) is set to hold its Biennial Convention in Ikeja, the Lagos State Capital, from April 28-30, 2017. The venue of the convention is the Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos State, with the theme: A Nation in Recession: Whither the Nigerian Media?
According to the NGE, the occasion will be chaired by the Chairman of the Daily trust Newspapers Limited, Malam Kabiru Yusuf.
Governor Akinwunmi Ambodeof Lgos State, who is the Chief Host, is to declare the convention open. Former Editor in Chief of the rested Union newspapers, Mr Emma Agu is expected to present a paper on the theme of the conventuion.
The Biennial Convention, one of the largest gatherings of Nigerian Editors brings together over 300 editors and other media professionals. The forum will produce a new executive, led by a new President to oversee the affairs of the Guild in the next two years. The tenure of the current executive, led by Mrs. Funke Egbemode, Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of New Telegraph newspapers, began with Mr. Femi Adesina in 2015 and was truncated when he was appointed Special Adviser to President Muhammad Buhari, a few weeks after election. Adesina handed over to Malam Garba Deen Muhammad who was the Deputy President, and his position was ratified during the 11th ANEC in Yenagoa, Bayelsa state. A few months after the mantle of leadership changed hands, Malam Muhammad was appointed Group General Manager, Group Public Affairs Division of NNPC. Again, power shifted to Mrs. Egbemode who was then the Vice-President (West), and her new position was ratified during the 12th ANEC in Port Harcourt, Rivers state, in 2016. To facilitate the election process, the Guild has appointed a highly respected veteran journalist and author, Mr. Ray Ekpu, as the Chairman of a five-member Electoral Committee to conduct the process. He is to be supported by other top-notch journalists of proven integrity.
A gala night/dinner will hold in the evening of Saturday, April 29 at 7:00pm during which new members of the Guild will be inducted. Delegates are expected to depart on Sunday, April 30, 2017.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply