BY SEGUN ADEBAYO – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Rotimi Akeredolu as the winner of Ondo State governorship election held on Saturday, October 10, 2020.

Returning Officer for the election and Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan, Professor Idowu Abel Olayinka, who declared the results on Sunday, said Akeredolu got the people’s mandate for another four-year tenure having garnered a total 292,830 votes across the 18 Local Government Areas of the state.

He said Governor Akeredolu is therefore returned elected having scored majority of votes cast during the election.

The Governor, popularly called ‘Aketi’ defeated his closest rival and candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Eyitayo Jegede whose tally was put at 195,791votes.

Coming a distant third is current Deputy Governor and candidate of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Agboola Ajayi who amassed a total of 69,127 votes.

Officially declaring the election results at the INEC headquarters in Akure, Prof Olayinka, said, “I hereby certify that I am the returning officer of the Ondo State election and that the election was conducted and the candidates received the following votes – Oluwarotimi Akeredolu got 292,830, Eyitayo Jegede got 195,791 and Agboola Ajayi got 69,127.

“That Oluwarotimi Akeredolu secured the highest number of votes among the 17 contestants. Moreover, he was expected to score 25 per cent in two-thirds of the state but he scored it across the 18 LGAs.

“Consequently, having satisfied the requirements of the law, I hereby declare Akeredolu as the winner and he is hereby returned elected.”

Governor Akeredolu emerged victorious in 15 of the 18 local government areas of the State following the final compilation and declaration of results by INEC in Akure on Sunday afternoon.

Among the 15 Local Government Areas won by APC include: Ile Oluji/Oke-Igbo, Idanre and Akoko South-East, Ose, Odigbo, Okitipupa, and Ondo West, and Ilaje

Others are: Ese Odo, Irele, Akoko North-East, Akoko South-West, Akoko North-West, Ondo East, and Owo

The three Local Government Areas that had Jegede of the PDP holding sway are Akure North, Ifedore and Akure South.

However, it was a disappointing outing for Deputy Governor Ajayi and his ZLP as they failed to capture any of the 18 local councils in the South West state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here